, , ,

Publisher: Saxon Publishing

Publication date: 8 July 2018

Gone to Ground is a gripping serial killer thriller full of page-turning suspense, and the sixth book in the Detective Kay Hunter British detective series:

1. Scared to Death

2. Will to Live

3. One to Watch

4. Hell to Pay

5. Call to Arms

6. Gone to Ground

This is an author that I’ve been meaning to read for a while because I’ve been aware of rave reviews by other bloggers of her books. Obviously a very popular author and I can see why. I was invited to join the blog tour by blog tour organiser Emma Welton from https://damppebbles.com/

This book is a police procedural that can be read as a stand alone because that’s exactly what I did and it was an interesting read nevertheless. An investigation into a serial killer that begins with one body part found dumped in a lay-by and found by a group of cyclists out for what they thought would be a pleasant ride

Without giving away any spoilers, the hunt for the said killer was cleverly written in such a way that I didn’t have a blinking clue who was responsible and was wrong footed at every turn. Dare I use the oft used word to describe the many paths and blind allies this book will take the reader on – twists. There I’ve said it and there are quite a few of them. Good job I’m not a detective because I’d have arrested all the suspects and thrown away the key! Very dodgy lot if you ask me.

Enjoyable rapport between the team of detectives. I loved the fact that Kay’s partner Adam is a vet and brings home various animals that need temporary shelter.
Gripping story, believable and I was held captive throughout until I’d finished it.

I’m now looking forward to reading the whole Kay Hunter series.

To Purchase from Amazon UK

About The AuthorBefore turning to writing, Rachel Amphlett played guitar in bands, worked as a TV and film extra, and dabbled in radio as a presenter and freelance producer for the BBC.

She now wields a pen instead of a plectrum and writes crime fiction and spy novels, including the Detective Kay Hunter series, the English Spy Mysteries, and the Dan Taylor espionage novels.

To receive an exclusive extract from forthcoming release GONE TO GROUND, book six in the Detective Kay Hunter series, copy and paste this URL: BookHip.com/ZFBFDB

Originally from the UK and currently based in Brisbane, Australia, Rachel cites her writing influences as Michael Connelly, Lee Child, and Robert Ludlum. She’s also a huge fan of Peter James, Val McDermid, Ann Cleeves, Peter Robinson, Angela Marsons, Robert Bryndza, Ken Follett, and Stuart MacBride.

She’s a member of International Thriller Writers and the Crime Writers Association, with the Italian foreign rights for her debut novel, White Gold sold to Fanucci Editore’s TIME Crime imprint, and the first four books in the Dan Taylor espionage series contracted to Germany’s Luzifer Verlag.

Her novels are available in eBook, paperback and audiobook formats from worldwide retailers as well as her own eBook store at http://www.rachelamphlett.com.

A keen traveller, Rachel holds both EU and Australian passports and can usually be found plotting her next trip two years in advance, usually with a crime fiction festival tacked on for good measure! You can stay in touch with Rachel via her Reader’s Group by joining at http://www.rachelamphlett.com.Follow the rest of the blog tour