Thank you to the author and publisher Harper Collins UK via NetGalley for my ARC

Critical Acclaim from other authors

Astounding. Thrilling. Lovely and amazing. I could weave in more superlatives but you get the idea. Finn has created a noir for the new millennium, packed with mesmerizing characters, stunning twists, beautiful writing and a narrator with whom I’d love to split a bottle of pinot. Maybe two bottles―I’ve got a lot of questions for her’ GILLIAN FLYNN

Twisted to the power of max. Hitchcockian suspense with a 21st-century spin‘ VAL McDERMID‘

A dark, twisty confection with an irresistible film noir premise. Hitchcock would have snapped up the rights in a heartbeat’ RUTH WARE‘

The Woman in the Window is one of those rare books that really is unputdownable. The writing is smooth and often remarkable. The way Finn plays off this totally original story against a background of film noir is both delightful and chilling’ STEPHEN KING

My Thoughts & Review

Just when the market appears to be saturated with psychological thrillers, along comes this little gem that I predict will be one of THE books of the year, if not THE book.

Unique in plot and structure, this is the story of Dr Anna Fox, an agoraphobic thirty something acclaimed psychologist, who has been unable to leave her three storey apartment in a New York brownstone apartment for ten months.

Estranged from her husband and daughter and recovering from a trauma, hinted at but yet to be revealed and causing her withdrawal from the world leaving her unable to leave the confines of her home without suffering extreme anxiety.

Anna’s world now mostly consists of medication washed down with copious glasses of Merlot and her insatiable curiosity about the lives of her neighbours whom she watches through the lens of her high spec camera and occasionally photographs. Her groceries are delivered and the internet becomes another window into the world.

In the apartment, Anna plays an almost continuous loop of of black and white film noir DVD’s that form a background of dialogue spoken by the actors and actresses that adds an interesting tense atmosphere and sometimes coincides with what is happening in Anna’s life.

When she hears screams one night and witnesses a terrifying event in a house across the park from her, from one of the families she’s been observing, she becomes caught up in something terrifying.

A completely gripping book that I read in a few sittings with such highly unexpected ending that left me gasping.

To Purchase from Amazon UK

To Purchase from Amazon US

About The Author (in his own words)

I’m A. J. Finn, author of THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW — a debut novel that Stephen King describes as “remarkable” and I call “the best I could do.” Guess which quote appears on the jacket.

THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW has been sold in 38 territories around the world and is currently in development as a major film at Fox 2000, to be produced by Oscar winner Scott Rudin and written by Pulitzer winner Tracy Letts. I really want a cameo in the movie, in case anyone asks.

I spent a decade working in publishing in both New York and London, with a particular emphasis on thrillers and mysteries. Authors I published or helped acquire over the years include Robert Galbraith (aka J. K. Rowling), Agatha Christie, Patricia Cornwell, Carl Hiaasen, Nelson DeMille, and Karin Slaughter.

Now I write full-time, to the relief of my former colleagues. THE WOMAN IN THE WINDOW was inspired by a range of experiences: my lifelong love affair with suspense fiction, from the Sherlock Holmes stories I devoured as a kid to the work of Patricia Highsmith, whom I studied at the graduate level at Oxford; my passion for classic cinema, especially the films of Alfred Hitchcock; and my struggles with agoraphobia and depression. The result, I hope, is a psychological thriller in the vein of Gillian Flynn, Tana French, and Kate Atkinson, among others.

Stuff I love: reading; swimming; cooking; dogs; ice cream; travel. (Note that third semicolon. It’s crucial. I do not love cooking dogs.) Given the chance, I’d seriously consider cloning my late yellow Labrador, Tugboat (2001-2012) — one of history’s few truly perfect creations. I collect first-edition books and divide my time between New York and London.

Advertisements