, , ,

My Thoughts & Review

Having read and enjoyed all of the previous books in this enchanting ‘Old Fools’ memoir series, I couldn’t wait to read this latest one, which is the fifth book in the series.

The first few in the series were the first books I read when I first owned a Kindle some years ago.

I read this lovely book over the Christmas period and as with the previous books in the series it was a joy to read about the house and the residents of the village of El Hoyo in the Andalusian mountains. Except that is for the worrying parts about Joe’s ill health that force Vicky and Joe to make the difficult decision to sell the delightful village house.

Their daughter and granddaughter Indy live in Australia and after a joyous visit made by Vicky to visit them for a few months while Joe had treatment in the UK, they decide on a permanent move to Australia to be nearer the family.

First though they enjoy one last summer in El Hoyo where there is a wedding, a few dramas and some observation of village romances by self-confessed people watcher Vicky.

I laughed and cried throughout this and I’m sad that this will be the last book in the series about the house and village in Andalusia but I’ll look forward to reading the next book about their new life in Australia. It’s an ending but also a new beginning for them.

As in the previous titles in this series, the book is also interspersed with the most delicious sounding Spanish recipes that I’m going to try.

.To Purchase on Amazon UK

About The Author

Victoria Twead is a New York Times bestselling author.

The Old Fools series:

#1 Chickens, Mules and Two Old Fools

#2 Two Old Fools – Olé!

#3 Two Old Fools on a Camel

#4 Two Old Fools in Spain Again

#5 Two Old Fools in Turmoil

Victoria Twead is the New York Times bestselling author of “Chickens, Mules and Two Old Fools” and the subsequent books in the Old Fools series.

After living in a remote mountain village in Spain for 11 years, and owning probably the most dangerous cockerel in Europe, Victoria and Joe retired to Australia where another joyous life-chapter has begun.

Victoria Twead’s website with updates about her life. There’s an offer of a free copy of the first book in the series Chickens Mules and Two Old Fools