Source: ARC via the publisher Sandstone Press

• Publication date: 16 Nov 2017

• Publisher: Sandstone

#6 in the Best Defence Series

Blood is thicker than water – but it’s not as hard as cash. The trial of Robbie Munro’s life: one month to prove he’s fit to be a father. No problem. Apart, that is, from the small matter of a double-murder in which psycho Jake Turpie, is implicated. Jake demands Robbie’s undivided attention and is prepared to throw money at the defence – along with some decidedly dodgy evidence. Robbie has a choice: look after his daughter or look after his client. Can the two be combined to provide the best of both worlds? Robbie aims to find out, and his attempts lead him into the alien worlds of high-fashion, drug-dealing and civil-litigation. It’s what being a father/lawyer is all about. Isn’t it?

More in the Best Defence Series

#1 Relatively Guilty

#2 Duty Man

#3 Sharp Practice

#4 Killer Contract

#5 Crime Fiction

#7 Present Tense

#8 Good News Bad News

My Thoughts and Review

Having read the previous book in the series Good News Bad News Review here I was looking forward to reading this one which is actually a prequel, but no problem as it could be read as a standalone.

Sitting out in the last of the autumn sunshine, I read this book in two sittings. It’s a clever, absorbing and funny book.

Once more the main character in the book is Robert (Robbie) Munro, the Scottish hapless lawyer who finds himself unwittingly embroiled in difficult situations not of his making.

In this book Robbie, is involved in a custody battle and with the help of his shrewd and canny father, has one month to prove that he can be a good father to his young daughter. He hadn’t reckoned though on his association with the criminal element in the form of Jake, small time crook who manages to get him involved in a murder case.

The dynamics between the family relationships are hilarious and astute and that combined with the thriller element to the book, makes it an addictive page turner. I loved it!

One day, I will catch up with the rest of the series.

To Purchase on Amazon UK

To Purchase at Waterstones