I’m really excited to be included in the blog tour for the Nordic Noir Crime Fiction novel Cursed by the writer Thomas Enger (translated by Kari Dickson)


The Blurb (via Amazon)


What secret would you kill to protect? When Hedda Hellberg fails to return from a retreat in Italy, where she has been grieving for her recently dead father, her husband discovers that his wife’s life is tangled in mystery. Hedda never left Oslo, the retreat has no record of her and, what’s more, she appears to be connected to the death of an old man, gunned down on the first day of the hunting season in the depths of the Swedish forests. Henning Juul becomes involved in the case when his ex-wife joins in the search for the missing woman, and the estranged pair find themselves enmeshed both in the murky secrets of one of Sweden’s wealthiest families, and in the painful truths surrounding the death of their own son. With the loss of his son to deal with, as well as threats to his own life and to that of his ex-wife, Juul is prepared to risk everything to uncover a sinister maze of secrets that ultimately leads to the dark heart of European history. Taut, chilling and unputdownable, Cursed is the fourth in the internationally renowned series featuring conflicted, disillusioned by always dogged crime reporter Henning Juul, and marks the return of one of Norway’s finest crime writers. FOR FANS OF Stieg Larsson, Gunnar Staalesen, K.O. Dahl, Jorn Lier Horst, Johan Theorin and The Bridge

Review

Suspenseful, dark, and gritty, this is a must-read.” Booklist”

“A gripping narrative that begs comparison to Stieg Larsson.” Bookpage”



My Thoughts

I read this novel almost all the way through without stopping, because I was immediately drawn in to the plot line and I liked the characters of Nora and Henning, both journalists. I found them both a refreshing change from the usual DI and team investigation set up in most crime fiction novels. 

The mysteries they were both involved in were intriguing and heart rending and I was eager to find out what had happened, who was responsible and why. Written in short crisp sentences without the need for flowery prose, this is  definitely my kind of book. I see that it was part of a series featuring Henning Juul but it can be read as a stand alone.

A mystery shooting, missing person, troubled relationship between two grief stricken parents, criminal underworld connections and a family feud are just some of the ingredients in this Norwegian thriller.

It sometimes takes me a while when reading Scandinavian novels to remember who was who, but not in this case.

Gripping throughout and Thomas Enger is definitely a writer to watch out for. Remember the name!

About the author



Thomas Enger (b. 1973) is a former journalist. He made his debut with the crime novel Burned (Skinndød) in 2009, which became an international sensation before publication. Burned is the first in a series of 5 books about the journalist Henning Juul, which delves into the depths of Oslo’s underbelly, skewering the corridors of dirty politics and nailing the fast-moving world of 24-hour news. Rights to the series have been sold to 26 countries to date. In 2013 Enger published his first book for young adults, a dark fantasy thriller called The Evil Legacy, for which he won the U-prize (best book Young Adult). Thomas Enger also composes music, and he lives in Oslo.

To Purchase on Amazon